Putting it all together

Here I will give in detail a list of everything that Adam and I had to send off for our immigration application. But first, a little background!

We married while I was on a tourist visa so our application is different to that of a K1 visa application. This means that rather than file for a petition for alien fiance (I-129) , we had to file two forms:

  • Petition for alien relative (I-130)

and

  • Adjustment of status (I-485)

I will wait in the United States while they process our application as opposed to waiting in the UK like with a K1 visa. All forms can be found on the USCIS website and are easy to find. You can either print and fill in by hand or fill in on the computer and print that way.

Now here is what we had to send off for each form. We started with the petition for alien relative (I-130). We followed the instructions for each form on the USCIS website and it is relatively easy to understand what you require for your individual situation. If you are stuck, refer back to their website, it is where all the CORRECT information can be found. You cannot go wrong if you follow the form instructions from their site.

Petition for alien relative (I-130)

This form is filed by your spouse as a petition for you, the alien relative.

  • Copy of Adam’s passport photo page
  • Copy of Adam’s birth certificate
  • Copy of marriage certificate
  • Passport style photos of both Adam and I (There are certain specifications that can be found on the USCIS website) *Write in pencil or soft pen your names on the back of the photos*
  • Biographic information (G-325A) for both Adam and I
  • A copy of our apartment lease
  • Two affidavits sworn by a third person having personal knowledge of the bona fides of the relationship. (This can be anyone from a family member or a friend. They just need to state how they heard about the marriage and state the legitimacy of your marriage relationship.)

Adjustment of status (I-485)

This form is filed by you, to apply to adjust your status to permanent resident.

  • Copy of your birth certificate
  • 2 identical passport style photos (specifications as before apply) *Write in pencil or soft pen your names on the back of the photos*
  • Biographic information (G-325A) (I filled mine in on the computer and just printed two copies. One for I-130 and one for I-485)
  • Affidavit of support signed by Adam

Affidavit of support (I-134)

This is a form to go alongside the adjustment of status and is filed in by your spouse.

  • A statement from your bank showing:
    • Date the account opened
    • Total amount deposited for the past year
    • current balance
  •  A statement from your employer on business stationary showing:
    • Date and nature of employment
    • Salary paid
    • Whether position is temporary or permanent

When you have gone through all the stress of filling in all of the correction information; and be sure to check, check and check again that you have filled in every single area, you must ensure you have the cheque or money order with the correct amount for each form. Forms such as the biographic information and the affidavit of support do not cost anything to file, whereas the petition for alien relative and adjustment of status do.

Petition for alien relative – $420

Adjustment of status – $985. With this you must also include $85 for the biometrics fee which will come later in your application process. 

Ensure that you have three different cheques or money orders for each of the three different payments.

And finally, when it comes to filing all of your hard work, Lockbox have a list of filing tips on the USCIS website. They ask that you file your paperwork in the following order:

  • Cheque or money order
  • Request for E-Notification (G-1145) If you choose to send this form or not. It is free to do so.
  • Form being filed
  • Supporting documentation

The whole process can seem incredibly daunting and overwhelming but if you take it step by step and follow the instructions of each form, it wont be too intense. We were lucky to have a lot of help with our forms and I hope that by writing this, I can help someone else in their process! Just remember that at the end of it all, you can look back and be so so proud of all that you have achieved! Good luck!

One thought on “Putting it all together

  1. This is so helpful for me. I’m trying to do the same, I came here on a visitor visa back in 1998 at the age of 8. Met my husband in high school and got married last year so we’re filing for me this year. I still need to get a few more things to complete the package and it’s all off to immigration. Good luck to you on everything, I will be following 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment